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MOTOR VEHICLES: REGULATION OF TRAFFIC. 

CRIMES AND OFFENSES GENERALLY: CRIMES AGAINST PROPERTY – LARCENY AND RECEIVING 
STOLEN GOODS. 

Individual who presses ‘pay inside’ button at self-service gasoline pump to 
activate pump to dispense fuel into his motor vehicle and drives away 
without paying is guilty of gasoline theft and is subject to criminal 
prosecution under petit larceny laws. 

The Honorable R. Steven Landes 
Member, House of Delegates 
December 27, 2001 

You ask whether an individual who fails to pay for fuel dispensed by 
pressing a "pay inside" button at a self-service gasoline pump is, in 
addition to violating § 46.2-819.2 of the Code of Virginia, subject to 
prosecution for a criminal offense. 

You relate that the method of pumping fuel into a motor vehicle through 
the use of self-service gasoline pumps at a retail service station permits an 
individual to select one of two payment modes: (1) the "pay outside" 
button on the pump by which the individual inserts a credit card with 
subsequent activation of the pump to dispense fuel and payment for such 
fuel recorded on the credit card; or (2) the "pay inside" button on the pump 
which activates the pump to dispense fuel with subsequent payment made 
to a cashier. You also relate that, with regard to the latter mode, an 
individual who presses the "pay inside" button to activate the pump to 
dispense fuel into the individual’s motor vehicle and subsequently drives 
away without paying for the fuel is in violation of § 46.2-819.2.1 

Title 18.2 contains the crimes and offenses for which criminal prosecution 
is authorized in the Commonwealth.2 Specifically, § 18.2-96 defines the 
crime of "petit larceny," and provides generally that any person who 
"[c]ommits simple larceny not from the person of another of goods and 
chattels of the value of less than $200 … shall be deemed guilty of petit 
larceny, which shall be punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor."3 
Additionally, § 18.2-103 provides: 

Whoever, without authority, with the intention of 
converting goods or merchandise to his own or another’s 
use without having paid the full purchase price thereof, or 
of defrauding the owner of the value of the goods or 
merchandise … of any store or other mercantile 



establishment, … when the value of the goods or 
merchandise involved in the offense is less than $200, shall 
be guilty of petit larceny …. 

"[L]arceny is the taking and carrying away of the goods and chattels of 
another with intent to deprive the owner of the possession thereof 
permanently."4 Pursuant to §§ 18.2-96 and 18.2-103, such actions amount 
to petit larceny when the value of the goods is less than $200. In a case 
decided by the Court of Appeals of Virginia, an individual used a gas 
credit card issued to him by his employer for purchases of gasoline when 
using the employer’s motor vehicle for employment purposes.5 The 
individual used the card, however, for his personal vehicle on several 
occasions and was prosecuted and convicted under § 18.2-192 for credit 
card theft.6 The Court of Appeals reversed the trial court’s decision and 
held that the facts show that he stole gasoline rather than a credit card, and 
that "theft of gasoline … is petit larceny."7 

Although the facts you present are different from the case decided by the 
Virginia Court of Appeals, the holding that the theft of gasoline is petit 
larceny is relevant. Under the facts presented, the actions of an individual 
who presses the "pay inside" button at a self-service gasoline pump to 
activate the pump to dispense fuel into his motor vehicle and drives away 
without paying for such fuel are tantamount to theft of the gasoline. 
Accordingly, I must conclude that such individual is subject to criminal 
prosecution under Virginia’s petit larceny laws. 

1Section 46.2-819.2 provides: 

"A. No person shall drive a motor vehicle off the premises of an establishment at 
which motor fuel offered for retail sale was dispensed into the fuel tank of such 
motor vehicle unless payment for such fuel has been made. 

"B. Any person who violates this section shall be liable for a civil penalty not to 
exceed $100. 

"C. The driver’s license of any person found to have violated this section (i) may 
be suspended, for the first offense, for a period of up to 30 days and (ii) shall be 
suspended for a period of 30 days for the second and subsequent offenses." 

2See, e.g., Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-7 (Michie Repl. Vol. 1996) (providing that "[t]he 
commission of a crime shall not stay or merge any civil remedy"); § 18.2-8 
(Michie Repl. Vol. 1996) (classifying offenses as either felonies or misdemeanors 
and stating that "[t]raffic infractions are violations of public order as defined in 
§ 46.2-100 and not deemed to be criminal in nature"). 

3Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-96(2) (Michie Repl. Vol. 1996). 

4Lund v. Commonwealth, 217 Va. 688, 691, 232 S.E.2d 745, 748 (1977). 



5See Sykes v. Com., 27 Va. App. 77, 79, 497 S.E.2d 511, 512 (1998). 

6Id. 

7Id. at 81, 497 S.E.2d at 513. 
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