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Dear Delegate Lingamfelter:

I am responding to your request for an official advisory opinion in accordance with § 2.2-505 of
the Code of Virginia.

Issue Presented

You ask whether state law regarding prepayment penalties is preempted when a federally
regulated financial institution purchases a mortgage loan from a state-regulated mortgage lender.

Response

[t is my opinion that when a borrower voluntarily pays down the balance of a loan with an initial
principal amount exceeding $75,000 that is secured by property owned in whole or in part by the
borrower, Virginia law permits both a federally regulated financial institution, which holds the note and
mortgage that were purchased for value, and a state-regulated financial institution, which was the maker
of the note, to assess and charge a two percent prepayment penalty.

Background

You inquire regarding a situation where a private individual purchased real estate and obtained
purchase-money financing in an amount exceeding $600,000 from a state-regulated mortgage lender. You
relate that the mortgage note contained a two percent 1pre:payment penalty provision should the note be
paid down within two years of the date of issuance. You state thatjafter the note was executed, a
federally regulated financial institution purchased the note and mortgage.” It is my understanding that the

"I must assume that the transaction about which you inquire does not constitute an alternative mortgage
transaction that would be subject to the Alternative Mortgage Transaction Parity Act of 1982, See 12 U.S.C.S,
§& 3801-3806 (LexisNexis 1997). The Parity Act permits a state-regulated financial institution to follow a federally
regulated program of mortgage lending, in which case the state laws limiting the imposition of a prepayment penalty
would be preempted by federal law. See generally Nat'l Home Equity Mortgage Ass'nv. Face, 239 F.3d 633
(4th Cir, 2001).

3Genera]ly speaking, federally regulated financial institutions are given wide latitude by the Office of Thriit
Supervision to assess prepayment penalties on mortgages. See 12 C.ER. § 560.34 (2006). Furthermore, the Office
“occupies the entire field of lending regulations for federal savings associations.” 12 C.F.R. § 560.2(a) (2006).
Where a federaily regulated savings institution is the maker of the note, it may “extend credit as authorized under
federal law ... without regard to state laws purporting to regulate their credit activities.” Id. “[T]he types of state
laws preempted by paragraph (a) ... include, without limitation, state laws purporting to impose requirements
regarding ... prepayment penalties[.]” 12 C.F.R. § 360.2(b)(5) (2006).
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private homeowners sold the property within two years of the execution of the mortgage instruments, paid
down the mortgage, and the federally regulated financial institution assessed and collected the two
percent prepayment penalty, which exceeded $10,000.

Applicable Law and Discussion
Section 6.1-330.87 provides, in relevant part, that:

No lender shall collect or receive any prepayment penalty on loans secured by real
property comprised of one to four family residential dwelling units, If the prepayment
results from the [lender’s] enforcement of the right to call the loan upon the sale of the
real property which secures the loan. [Emphasis added.]

Generally, “[w]here the language of a statute is clear and unambiguous|,] rules of construction are not
required,”3 It is evident from a plain reading of § 6.1-330.87 that the intent is to prohibit the coliection of
a prepayment penalty when the lender actually exercises the right to obligate the seller to pay the balance
of the loan upon sale of the property. Thus, only such a limited circumstance would bar a lender from
collecting a prepayment penalty on a residential mortgage.4

Real estate transactions often involve a contractual obligation of the seller to convey clear and
marketable title to the buyer to consummate the transac:tion.5 Under such circumstances, the decision to
pay down the loan is voluntary pursuant to the seller’s contractual agreement with the buyer. Generally,
such decision does not arise from the action of the lender.

When the decision to pay down a mortgage does not arise from an action of the lender, we must
examine §§6.1-330.81 and 6.1-330.83 to determine whether a prepayment penalty is permissible.
Section 6.1-330.81(A) provides that:

Every loan contract ... secured by a first deed of trust or first mortgage on real estate,
where the principal amount of the loan is less than $75,000, shall permit the prepayment
of the unpaid principal at any time and no penalty in excess of one percent of the unpaid
principal balance shall be allowed.

Morcover, § 6.1-330.83 provides that “[tjhe prepayment penalty in the case of a loan secured by a
mortgage or deed of trust on a home which is occupied or to be occupied in whole or in part by a

*See Ambrogi v. Koontz, 224 Va. 381, 386, 297 S.E.2d 660, 662 (1982); 2003 Op. Va. Att’y Gen, 18, 19.

Tt is my understanding that the Bureau of Financial Institutions affords a similar interpretation to § 6.1-330.87.
This information was provided by the Office of the General Counsel to the State Corporation Commissien, who
represents the Bureau of Financial Institutions. Courts give great weight to the construction and interpretation of
statutes by the agency charged with such responsibility. See County of Henrico v. Mgmt. Recruiters of Richmond,
Inc., 221 Va. 1004, 1010, 277 S.E.2d 163, 166-67 (1981); Dep’t of Taxation v. Progressive Cmty. Club, 215 Va. 732,
739, 213 S.E.2d 759, 763 (1975); Commonwealth v. Appalachian Elec. Power Co., 193 Va. 37, 45, 68 S.E.2d 122,
127 (1951); 2005 Op. Va. Att’y Gen. 117, 121 n.16 and opiniens cited therein.

*«Clear title” means “[a] title free from any encumbrances, burdens, or other limitations.” BLACK’S LAW
DICTIONARY 1522 (8th ed. 2004). “Marketable title” means “[a] title that a reasonable buyer would accept because
it appears to lack any defect and to cover the entire property that the seller has purported to sell.” fd, at 1523.
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borrower shall not be in excess of two percent of the amount of such prepayment.” When read together,
§§ 6.1-330.81 and 6.1-330.83 indicate that a prepayment penalty of two percent on a home mortgage
generally is permissible unless the original note was for an amount less than $75,000.

Since the transaction about which you inquire was for more than $75,000, a two percent
prepayment penalty is permissible under Virginia law. However, [ must assume that the borrower
voluntarily paid down the note principal pursuant to a real estate sales contract with a third party.7 In such
a situation, there is no federal preemption issue. The state-regulated mortgage lender that originated the
transaction could charge the prepayment penalty under state law, and the federally regulated institution
that purchased the note and mortgage could charge the otherwise valid prepayment penalty as a bona fide
purchaser for value.”

Conclusion

Accordingly, it is my opinion that when a borrower voluntarily pays down the balance of a loan
with an initial principal amount exceeding $75,000 that is secured by property owned in whole or in part
by the borrower, Virginia law permits both a federally regulated financial institution, which holds the note
and mortgage that were purchased for value, and a state-regulated financial institution, which was the
maker of the note, to assess and charge a two percent prepayment penalty.

Thank you for letting me be of service to you.

Sincerely,

S fO-Hed

Robert F. McDonnell

2:1367; 1:941/07-014

*For purposes of this opinion, I will assume that the borrower about whom you inquire occupied at least a
portion of the property secured by the mortgage. '

"Should the lender exercise the right to call the loan upon the sale of the property, § 6.1-330.87 would apply, and
a state-regulated lender would be barred from collecting a prepayment penalty. A federal institution, as a bona fide
purchaser for value, could enforce a loan provision that was otherwise illegal between the original borrower and
lender unless such provision was void by statute. See Garrison v. First Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass’n, 241 Va. 335,
340-41, 402 S.E2d 25, 28 (1991); see also Lynchburg Nat’l Bank v. Scott Bros., 91 Va. 652, 22 S.E. 487 (1895)
{discussing loan provisions made illegal by statute versus those declared void at outset by statute). In the event the
loan provision was void at the outset by statute, the more lenient federal regulations governing federally regulated
financial institutions would not save the provision. See Garrison, 241 Va. at 344-45, 22 S.E.2d at 30-31. In that
case, the federally regulated financial institution would merely be an assignee, not the maker of the note. See id;
see also supra note 2 (discussing federal regulation of prepayment penalties).

Based on the facts you present, the federally regulated financial institution merely is an assignee and not the
maker of the note. See Garrison, 241 Va. at 344-45, 22 S.E.2d at 30-31. If the federally regulated institution were
the maker of the note, it could assess and charge a prepayment penalty, even in excess of the two percent limit
proscribed by state law, whether or not it was enforcing a right to call the loan since state law would be preempted
by the more lenient federal regulation. Compare 12 C.FR. § 560.34 with VA. CODE ANN, §§ 6.1-330.83, 6.1-330.87
(1999).

Generally, a bona fide purchaser for value of a note can enforce the terms of the note that it purchased unless
those terms expressly are void. See Lynchburg Nat’l Bank, 91 Va. at 654-55, 22 S.E. at 438,



