
What Happens if I 
Violate the Order? 

If you violate the terms of a family abuse 
protective order that (1) prohibit further acts 
of family abuse or criminal offenses that 
result in injury to person or property; (2) 
prohibit contact by the respondent with the 
petitioner or his or her household or family 
members; or (3) prohibit the respondent 
from going or remaining upon land, build- 
ings, or premises, such as the residence, it is 
a Class 1 Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 
one year in jail and/or up to a $2,500 fine. 
Va. Code § 16.1-253.2. 

 
If you violate any term of a protective order 
issued in a matter involving an act of violence, 
force, or threat, it is a Class 1 Misdemeanor, 
punishable by up to one year in jail and/or 
up to a $2,500 fine. Va. Code § 18.2-60.4. 

 
If you violate the protective order, you also 
could be charged with other crimes such as 
trespassing, breaking and entering, and 
stalking. 

 
A second or subsequent violation of a pro- 
tective order may cause you to be subject 
to specific and enhanced punishments. 

 

 
If you are convicted of violating a protective 
order, the court will issue another protec- 
tive order against you that can last for up to 
two years, in addition to any other penalty 
allowed under the law. 

 
Are There Other Restrictions? 

 
Yes.  Virginia law prohibits you from purchasing or 
transporting a firearm while the protective order is 
in effect.   You also must immediately surrender 
your concealed weapons permit to the court that 
entered the protective order.   A violation of this 
law is a Class 1 Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 
one year in jail and/or up to a $2,500 fine.   Va. 
Code § 18.2-308.1:4. 
 
In addition, federal law prohibits you from possess- 
ing any firearm or ammunition while you are subject 
to a qualifying protective order.  A violation of the 
federal law  is  punishable by  up  to  ten  years  in 
prison. 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(8). 
 
 
 

For more information about federal firearms 
prohibitions,  or  to  determine  whether  you 
can lawfully possess a firearm, contact the 
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms at 
1-800-800-3855, or www.atf.gov. 

 
 
 
 
 

Office of the Attorney General 
202 North Ninth Street 

Richmond, Virginia 23219 
(804) 786-2071 

www.ag.virginia.com 
domesticviolence@oag.state.va.us 

 
 
 
 

This project was supported in whole or in part by Grant No. 2010- 
WE-AX-0056, awarded to Virginia by the United States Department 

of Justice from funds authorized by the Federal Violence Against 
Women Act. The opinions, findings, conclusions or recommenda- 
tions expressed herein do not necessarily reflect the views of the 

United States Department of Justice. 

 
 

WHAT YOU SHOULD 

KNOW ABOUT 

PROTECTIVE ORDERS 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A Guide to Ensure 
Compliance with 

the Law 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Office of the Attorney General 
Mark R. Herring, Attorney General 

 
www.ag.virginia.gov 

http://www.atf.gov/
http://www.ag.virginia.com/
http://www.ag.virginia.com/
http://www.ag.virginia.com/
http://www.ag.virginia.gov/


 
You have been given this brochure because 
a judge or magistrate has issued a protective 
order to protect the health and safety of the 
petitioner (the person who requested the 
order) and his or her family or household 
member(s) in matters involving family abuse 
or an act of violence, force, or threat as de- 
fined by Virginia law. 

 
The purpose of this brochure is to provide 
you with the information that will help you 
comply with the protective order.  If you 
strictly follow the terms of the protective 
order, you  can  avoid additional problems 
that may result in criminal penalties. 

 
What is a Protective Order? 

 
A protective order is an order issued by a 
judge or magistrate to prevent further acts 
of family abuse or acts of violence, force, or 
threat against a person or his or her family 
or household members. 

 
The person who asks for the protective or- 
der is called the petitioner. The person to 
whom the order is addressed and who must 
comply with its terms is called the respon- 
dent. 

 
A protective order details what you, the 
respondent, must do and what you must not 
do while the order is in effect. 

 
If you have questions about the terms of the 
order or consequences for violations, talk to 
an attorney.  For an attorney referral, contact 
the Virginia Lawyer Referral Service, at (804) 
775-0808, or toll-free (800) 552-7977. 

I Did Not Go to Court - How Can I Be 
Subject to a Protective Order? 

 
There are two types of protective orders that may 
be issued without the presence of the respondent. 
They are Emergency Protective Orders and 
Preliminary Protective Orders. These protec- 
tive orders are temporary and are issued when it is 
necessary to protect the health and safety of others 
immediately after an incident or before a full hear- 
ing.  Emergency Protective Orders usually last for 
three days, or until the next day the Court is in ses- 
sion.   Preliminary Protective Orders typically last 
for up to 15 days, or until the full hearing. 
 
A Final Protective Order is issued only after a 
full hearing where the respondent is given the op- 
portunity to present his or her own evidence.  A 
Final Protective Order can last for up to two years, 
but may be extended for another two year period if 
requested by the petitioner. 
 
 

How Can I Change the 
Protective Order? 

 
Only a judge can dismiss a protective order or 
change the terms of a protective order.   Either 
party can request to have the terms changed. 
 
Do not ask or pressure the petitioner to ask the 
court to dismiss or change a protective order. Do 
not ask another person to pressure the petitioner 
for you.  If you do, you will be in violation of the 
protective order. 
 
It is better that you ask the court to dismiss or 

change the protective order yourself. 

What Should I Do? 
 
YOU are the person responsible for complying 
with the protective order.  Only YOU will be 
held responsible if any terms are violated. 
 
If the protective order states that you must have 
NO CONTACT with the petitioner or the peti- 
tioner’s family or household members: 
 
♦ DO NOT go near the petitioner or anyone 

listed in the protective order, even if the peti- 
tioner asks you, unless an exception is listed 
in the protective order. 

 
♦ DO NOT call, text, e-mail, fax, or mail any- 

thing to the petitioner or anyone protected 
by the protective order. 

 
♦ DO NOT send messages through friends, 

family, co-workers, neighbors, or anyone else. 
 
♦ DO NOT drive around the petitioner’s resi- 

dence, workplace, or regular “hang out.” 
 
♦ DO NOT try to reconcile or “make up” 

while the protective order is in effect, even if 
the petitioner asks you. 

 
♦ DO NOT accept or respond to any phone 

calls, texts, e-mails, faxes or mail from the 
petitioner. 

 
If the protective order says that the petitioner 
has been granted possession of the residence, 
you must immediately leave and stay away from 
the residence.  DO NOT go to the residence 
during the time the order is in effect. 



 
 

En caso de que se violara la 
orden de protección 

¿qué sucedería? 
 
Cualquier violación de la orden de protec- 
ción impuesta por motivo de maltrato fami- 
liar que prohíbe (1) futuros actos de maltra- 
to familiar o actos criminales que infligiera 
daños a la persona o daños a la propiedad; 
(2) contacto alguno con el/la demandante o 
miembros de su hogar o de su familia, o (3) 
ir al o quedarse en el terreno, el edificio o 
los recintos del domicilio, de parte de us- 
ted, el demandado/a, es un delito menor de 
clasificación 1  castigado con una pena de 
cárcel de hasta un año y/o una multa de 
hasta $2.500. Código de Virginia §  16.1- 
253.2. 

 

Asimismo, cualquier violación de las 
condiciones de una orden de protección 
emitida por motivo de actos de violencia, force- 
jeo o amenaza, es un delito menor de clasifi- 
cación 1 castigado con una pena de cárcel 
de hasta un año y/o una multa de hasta 
$2.500. Código de Virginia § 18.2-60.4. 

 

De ser aplicable, una violación de la orden 
de protección pudiera hacerle incurrir en 
cargos de delitos como traspaso ilegal, alla- 
namiento de morada y hostigamiento per- 
sistente. 

 

Una segunda violación, y, por ende,  cual- 
quier subsiguiente violación, resultará en 
castigos específicos y mayores. 

 
Cualquier violación de la orden de protec- 
ción pudiera ser suficiente motivo para im- 
ponerle una orden de protección adicional 
que pudiera extenderse por hasta dos años. 
También, podría ser sujeto a otras penas 
que por ley fuesen aplicables. 

Restricciones adicionales 
 
Las leyes de Virginia le prohíben comprar y/o 
transportar armas de fuego mientras este en vigen- 
cia una orden de protección. Usted tiene que entre- 
gar cualquier permiso para portar  armas a la corte 
que  emitió la orden de protección. Una violación 
de esta ley es un delito menor de clasificación 1 
castigado por una pena de cárcel de  hasta un  año 
y/o una multa de  hasta $2.500. Código §  18.2- 
308.1:4 
 
Finalmente, en tanto que usted esté bajo esta or- 
den, las leyes federales le prohíben poseer cualquier 
arma de fuego o municiones. Una violación de esta 
ley Federal es castigado con una pena de prisión de 
hasta 10 años. Código 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(8). 
 
 
 
 

Para obtener mayor información acerca de las 
prohibiciones federales para armas de fuego, o si 
tiene cualquier duda acerca de poseer armas de 
fuego, favor de contactar al Departamento de Alco- 
hol, Tabaco, Armas de Fuego y Explosivos al 1- 
800-800-3855, o por Internet en www.atf.gov. 
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A usted se le está entregando este panfleto 
por ser objeto de una orden de protección 
emitida por un juez o un magistrado de la 
corte.  La orden de  protección se impone 
a fin de proteger la salud y velar por la se- 
guridad del demandante (la persona que 
solicito la orden) así como cualquier miem- 
bros de su familia y/o hogar involucrados 
por motivo de maltrato familiar o actos de 
violencia y/o amenaza descritos en la ley del 
estado de Virginia. 

 

La información contenida en este panfleto 
le ayudará a cumplir con la orden protec- 
ción.  Su cumplimiento estricto a las condi- 
ciones estipuladas en la orden de protec- 
ción le ayudara a evitar mayores problemas 
y posibles cargos criminales. 

 

¿Qué es una orden de protección? 
 

Una orden de protección es una orden 
emitida por un juez o magistrado a fin de 
prevenir futuros actos de violencia familiar 
así como actos de violencia, forcejo o ame- 
nazas contra otra persona, contra su familia 
u otras personas que viven bajo el mismo 
hogar. 

 

El demandante es la persona que pide la 
orden  de protección. El demandado es la 
persona contra quien se dirige la orden de 
protección y es la persona que tiene que 
cumplir con sus términos o condiciones. 

 
La orden de protección detalla todo lo que 
a usted y al demandado/a se le permite 
hacer, así como lo que no se le permite 
hacer mientras sigue en vigencia tal orden. 

 
Cualquier pregunta sobre las condiciones expuestas en 
la orden de protección o de cualquier posibles conse- 
cuencias de violarla deben ser dirigidas a un abogado. Si 
desea la asistencia de un abogado favor de contactarse 
con Virginia Lawyer Referral Service, al (804) 775-0808, 
o gratis al (800) 552-7977. 

 
Si no he ido a ninguna corte, ¿cómo es 
que me pueden obligar a cumplir con 

una orden de protección? 
 
Existen dos clases de orden de protección ejecuta- 
bles que no exigen la presencia del demandado/a La 
primera es una orden de protección de emer- 
gencia, y la otra es conocida como una orden de 
protección preliminar. Estas ordenes son tem- 
porales y se emiten a fin de velar por la seguridad y 
la salud de la victima o victimas tras haber ocurrido 
un incidente o con anterioridad a una audiencia ple- 
na.  La orden de protección de emergencia normal- 
mente  es valida por 3 días o hasta la próxima au- 
diencia judicial. Una orden protección  preliminar 
puede ser valida hasta por 15 días o hasta el día de 
la audiencia completa. 
 

Una orden de protección final se emite tras 
haber dado al demandado/a la oportunidad de pre- 
sentar pruebas a su favor en una audiencia plena. La 
orden de protección final puede extenderse has- 
ta por dos años a pedido del demandante. 
 
 

¿Cómo puedo cambiar la orden de 
protección? 

 

Solo el juez puede retirar la orden de protección o 
cambiar sus términos y condiciones. No obstante, 
cualquiera de las partes puede solicitar a la corte 
hacer cambios a la misma. 
 

Usted NO DEBE pedir o presionar al demandan- 
te para retirar o cambiar las condiciones de la or- 
den protectora.  Asimismo, usted no debe pedir 
que otra persona presione al demandante a favor 
suyo. De hacerlo estaría violando la orden de pro- 
tección. 
 
 
 
Si desea retirar o cambiar la orden  de protec- 
ción debe solicitarlo directamente a la corte. 

LO QUE USTED DEBE HACER 
 
USTED tiene la responsabilidad de cumplir con la 
orden de protección. USTED  tendrá que res- 
ponder por cualquier violación de las condicio- 
nes. 
 

Si la orden protectora le PROHIBE TENER 
CONTACTO con la parte demandante o cual- 
quier miembros de su familia y/o de su domicilio 
esto significa que USTED: 
 
♦ NO DEBE acercarse al demandante ni a nin- 

guna otra persona indicada por la de protec- 
ción. Aun si el demandante le indique lo con- 
trario, usted no debe hacerlo, a no ser que 
haya excepciones estipuladas en la orden mis- 
ma. 

 

♦ NO DEBE hacer llamadas, ni enviar mensajes 
en texto, correo electrónico ni por correo 
postal al demandante o a cualquier otra per- 
sona protegida por la orden protectora. 

 
♦ NO DEBE usar a ninguna persona (amigo, 

pariente,  compañero de trabajo, o vecinos) 
de intermediarios para enviar mensajes al de- 
mandante. 

 
♦ NO DEBE  pasar por el hogar del deman- 

dante, su lugar de empleo o lugares que 
comúnmente frecuente. 

 

♦ NO DEBE intentar reconciliarse o volver a 
juntarse mientras sigue en vigencia esta orden, 
aun si se lo pidiera el demandante. 

 

♦ NO DEBE aceptar o contestar ninguna lla- 
mada, mensaje en texto,  correspondencia o 
fax provenientes del demandante. 

 
Por ultimo, si la orden de protección le entrega- 
ra al demandante uso y posesión exclusiva del 
domicilio, usted tiene que desalojar y mantener- 
se fuera del hogar, NO DEBE regresar al domi- 
cilio mientras este en vigencia la orden. 


